Hope in the Journey and EMDR

Alright, y’all. Let’s just dive right in. I’m not gonna spend a whole lot of time talking about what I’ve been through leading up to this. I am going to start in my present moment and I’m sure we will discuss my past as I try to explain how I got here. If you want to read a little more about me visit my about page here. What I want to do with this blog is to give you a view of what I am working on right now. A more refined, edited (thankfully for you!) version of my personal journal. I will process through on my own and then let you read a little of my insights here.

I have done a lot of work around my own personal trauma, by myself, in counseling, and through church groups. Right now I am actively attending counseling sessions weekly. To say that it is hard to balance being a mom, wife, and digging deep into my story would be an understatement. It is not something that I would necessarily choose to do myself without the underlying hope of wholeness and redemption that my counselor, my family and I have.

One of the most helpful tools I have found that has helped me process trauma is through eye movement desensitization and reprocessing (EMDR). If you’ve never heard of it I encourage you to read more about it here. A lot of my healing breakthroughs have been a combination of hard work and choosing to go into dark places, Jesus, talk therapy, and EMDR.

If I have learned one thing on my journey towards wholeness I know that “name it claim it” approach to healing does not work. While I believe that Jesus has the ultimate power to heal once and for all, I don’t think that’s the story that most of us have. Do I want to be plucked out of my pain? Definitely. Do I want to be rescued? For sure. But I know through experience that the mountain top view is so much better when you have battled through the valley, up the mountain, across all the switchbacks–the thirst, hunger, and desolation–to reach the top.

It is not for the faint of heart, but with a support system and hope, anything is possible.

 

Leave a Reply

